Skip to content

Process - Retention Labels ​

Process – Retention Labels

Versioning ​

12 Aug 2025

Andrew Badge

Initial Version

Overview ​

This document outlines Retention labels; what they are, how they can be used and why they’re important.

What are Retention Labels ​

Retention Labels are system labels (in Microsoft 365 in this case) that determine how long we retain content. Although Cloud service can retain unlimited content forever; we only get a certain (generous) allocation as part of our licensing and additional capacity is very expensive.

Retention Labels ensure we keep our content tidy.

Without Retention Labels:

  • Any content a user has access to can be deleted at any time
  • Any content untouched will remain forever (as long as we have a paid subscription)

Each label can set one or more restrictions:

  • Retain for a period (content can’t be deleted until after the period)
  • Delete after a period (will be automatically deleted after a period)
  • Retain then Delete after a period

Labels and dates:

Labels can be set to work form the date content was created or last modified.

e.g. Delete 7 years after the document was created.

Why are labels necessary? ​

Examples are:

  • If people leave the organisation; their content often remains untouched and will be kept forever. A default retention policy will remove the content if not touched for a period (e.g. 7 years).
  • Financial document often need to be kept for 7 years. However people with permissions can delete these documents at any time. A 7 Year retention policy can force the content to be kept for at least 7 years.

How are labels applied? ​

Labels can be default overall (this applies to all apps) or have a default set for a certain SharePoint site or library.

Labels can then be overridden by the user for a folder, email or file.

Example Labels ​

Below are the standard labels, the Description and the settings that are applied.

NB: this is the default and will likely be refined and additional descriptions added.

Label name

Label description for users

Settings

[No Label is Applied]

Current situation

Content is not retained (can be deleted anytime).

Content is not deleted automatically

Delete after 5 years

5 years after the content was last Modified the content will be automatically deleted.

*Often a good default policy

Content is not retained (can be deleted anytime).

Content is automatically deleted 5 years after last modified

Retain for 7 years

Content is retained for 7 years after the last modified date.

After 7 years the content can be deleted.

Used for Financial sites and content

Content is retained for 7 years (cannot be deleted).

Content is not deleted automatically

Retain forever

Content is retained forever (can never be deleted).

*Used where there are long term contracts. E.g. 30 year government agreements

Content is retained forever (cannot be deleted).

Content is not deleted automatically.