Appearance
Process - Retention Labels
Process – Retention Labels
Versioning
12 Aug 2025
Andrew Badge
Initial Version
Overview
This document outlines Retention labels; what they are, how they can be used and why they’re important.
What are Retention Labels
Retention Labels are system labels (in Microsoft 365 in this case) that determine how long we retain content. Although Cloud service can retain unlimited content forever; we only get a certain (generous) allocation as part of our licensing and additional capacity is very expensive.
Retention Labels ensure we keep our content tidy.
Without Retention Labels:
- Any content a user has access to can be deleted at any time
- Any content untouched will remain forever (as long as we have a paid subscription)
Each label can set one or more restrictions:
- Retain for a period (content can’t be deleted until after the period)
- Delete after a period (will be automatically deleted after a period)
- Retain then Delete after a period
Labels and dates:
Labels can be set to work form the date content was created or last modified.
e.g. Delete 7 years after the document was created.
Why are labels necessary?
Examples are:
- If people leave the organisation; their content often remains untouched and will be kept forever. A default retention policy will remove the content if not touched for a period (e.g. 7 years).
- Financial document often need to be kept for 7 years. However people with permissions can delete these documents at any time. A 7 Year retention policy can force the content to be kept for at least 7 years.
How are labels applied?
Labels can be default overall (this applies to all apps) or have a default set for a certain SharePoint site or library.
Labels can then be overridden by the user for a folder, email or file.
Example Labels
Below are the standard labels, the Description and the settings that are applied.
NB: this is the default and will likely be refined and additional descriptions added.
Label name
Label description for users
Settings
[No Label is Applied]
Current situation
Content is not retained (can be deleted anytime).
Content is not deleted automatically
Delete after 5 years
5 years after the content was last Modified the content will be automatically deleted.
*Often a good default policy
Content is not retained (can be deleted anytime).
Content is automatically deleted 5 years after last modified
Retain for 7 years
Content is retained for 7 years after the last modified date.
After 7 years the content can be deleted.
Used for Financial sites and content
Content is retained for 7 years (cannot be deleted).
Content is not deleted automatically
Retain forever
Content is retained forever (can never be deleted).
*Used where there are long term contracts. E.g. 30 year government agreements
Content is retained forever (cannot be deleted).
Content is not deleted automatically.

